Hôtel Papelard is another striking example of mansion architecture and the ongoing desire of Champagne wine merchants to establish their premises on Avenue de Champagne.
Initially a private mansion, the property has passed through the hands of several owners and been redeveloped over the years; however, its production, sales and subsequently visitor reception roles have endured from the 18th century to the present day.
In 1794, wine merchant Jean Guyot commissioned the building of a mansion, complete with several cellars, where he planned to run his business. The unfinished building was sold in 1795 to another wine merchant, François-Gratien Camiat, from whom it took its original name. In 1856, it was purchased by the Papelard Champagne House and renamed Hôtel Papelard. In 1920, the House of Moët & Chandon acquired the building and moved its sales department there, as well as creating accommodation quarters for its workforce.
The property mirrors the adjoining Hôtel Moët, firstly in its symmetrical layout between the courtyard and garden, with a paved courtyard bordered by two wings and a large monumental gateway (albeit added later, in the 19th century) following its line; and secondly, in the prominent role played by its main building.
Constructed in brick ornamented with cut stone, the buildings overlooking the courtyard and garden match the understated aesthetic of other 18th century buildings in Épernay.
Nowadays, the Hôtel Papelard is home to Moët & Chandon's management offices and reception rooms.
Hôtel Papelard, 22, avenue de Champagne – 51200 Épernay
Closed to the public, but visitors can admire the building from the outside.