The Perrier-Jouët Champagne House at 24 Avenue de Champagne combines the showcase residential buildings typically constructed by the wine merchants (mansions with a U-shaped design), with the functional premises intended for Champagne production and sales.
Pierre-Nicolas Perrier and his wife Rose-Adélaïde Jouët acquired the buildings located at the modern-day 24 Avenue de Champagne in 1813. They moved their Champagne House, founded two years previously in 1811, to these new premises.
The House of Perrier-Jouët experienced a real boom from 1814-1848, requiring an extension of the cellars and construction of other much-needed buildings: new outbuildings were added, the original main building was completely remodelled and extensive storehouses were built to a U-shaped design. The Neo-Classical architecture of these buildings, most of which survive to this day, is painstakingly crafted.
An imposing skylight overlooks the entrance, bearing the date the House was founded, surmounted by a clock.
In 1877, the U-shaped storehouse courtyard was covered and enclosed by a brick-clad timber frame facade, with the upper section mainly glazed. The original pine frame was quite innovative for the period, since it enabled a width of 27m to be spanned without the need for supporting pillars. The design was the work of architect Eugène Cordier, who built the Château Perrier in 1854 on the other side of the street for the son of Pierre-Nicolas, Charles Perrier.
Perrier-Jouët Champagne House, 24 avenue de Champagne, 51200 Épernay.