While G.H. Martel & Cohas based its production facility in Épernay, the rest of its premises are located on Saint-Nicaise Hill in Reims. Here, visitors can explore its crayères, converted chalk quarries, some of which date back to medieval times, along with its Champagne eco-museum, housed in 18th century buildings.
Founded in 1869 by an owner-producer from Avenay-Val-d'Or, close to Aÿ, the G.H. Martel & Co Champagne House is now based in both Reims and Épernay. Some of its premises are located in a former property of the state originally owned by the Carthusian monks of Mont-Dieu, and at one time a brewery, located above the chalk crayères on Saint-Nicaise Hill. Two buildings flank a striking entrance beneath a three-centred arch. This provides access to a paved courtyard surrounded by buildings built in the 18th century and repurposed in the 20th century. Other more recent buildings are in keeping with the spirit of the property.
The cellar was built on the former crayères. It is a network of chalk galleries, cellars and tunnels approximately 20m high that were a key component of the underground link between the abbeys of Saint-Remi and Saint-Nicaise. No longer used for the production and storage of wine, the cellar is now an eco-museum dedicated to the vineyards and Champagne, complete with a collection of antique regional tools and machinery that illustrate the different phases in the Champagne production process.
Champagne G.H. Martel & Co – 17 rue des Créneaux – 51100 Reims
Tel.: +33 3 26 82 70 67