The Château des Crayères was commissioned by Louise Pommery, Marquise de Polignac, with construction beginning on Saint-Nicaise Hill in 1902. The Château is an example of an owner's residence integrated within an industrial complex, a typical layout at the cusp of the 20th century.
While the building experienced some trials and tribulations during the 20th century, it is now a luxury hotel and member of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux group, in this way enhancing the prestige of the entire Champagne region.
Set in seven hectares of beautiful grounds opposite the Vranken-Pommery production site, the architecture of the Château des Crayères is typical of 18th century residences, combining restraint and majesty, though in fact it was constructed in 1902-04.
When the Château was built, it was part of a unique industrial complex combining production, storage and distribution premises with administrative, sales and showcase buildings, of which the former Pommery Estate is one of the most complete examples.
Partly destroyed during the First World War, it was rebuilt in identical style in 1920, while during World War 2 it housed at various times a Royal Air Force command centre, a German air force radio communications centre, and a United States army rest centre.
Following the war, the De Polignac family used it as a private residence (1947-1980) then sold it to the Gardinier family, who lived there until 1983 before converting the building into a hotel and restaurant. The château is now part of Les Crayères estate and its double Michelin-starred restaurant, headed by chef Philippe Mille, is now one of the most renowned eating places in France.
64, boulevard Henry Vasnier - 51100 Reims