Located in Mareuil-sur-Aÿ, the Château de Montebello is the epitome of a site that brings together every aspect of the Champagne production process: vines around the building, ground level and underground production facilities, wine sales and a showcase for the brand (reception room).
Although Champagne is no longer produced onsite, the château is still a luxurious residence that enhances the prestige of its owners, who are committed to preserving this example of local built heritage.
Constructed between 1771 and 1774 and commissioned by Jean-Baptiste-Thomas de Domangeville, the château overlooks a large garden and boasts a lavish design. The rectangular building has an open foundation level, a raised ground floor for the central front section, and a floor with attic space in the wings.
At one time the property of Duke of Orléans, Philippe Egalité, and boasting over 100 hectares of vines, it was acquired in 1830 by the son of Marshal Lannes, Duke of Montebello. Along with his two brothers, he founded the Alfred de Montebello Champagne House in 1834. New buildings were constructed in the late 19th century as the company developed. Circa 1896, the garden surrounding the residence was redesigned by Reims architect and landscape gardener Edouard Redont.
Following the 1929 Wall Street Crash, the Champagne House was declared bankrupt and all the assets were purchased at auction by a young wine merchant, René Chayoux, who would later become president of the Union of Champagne Houses (UMC), and a key player within the Champagne Committee (CIVC).
René Chayoux, and later Jean-Michel Ducellier (his sole heir and himself UMC president and CIVC co-president) developed the château as a meeting venue for winegrowers and Champagne Houses, for the management and promotion of the Champagne AOC.
Since 2002, the Château de Montebello has been owned by a family group, and is used as a reception venue for its business activities.
Château de Montebello – rue Carnot – Mareuil-sur-Aÿ – 51160 Aÿ-Champagne.