The Billecart-Salmon Champagne House is testament to the development of professional expertise, within buildings designed to meet the needs of Champagne production. The House can also make a claim to the historical continuity of the Champagne appellation, given its long history, along with improvements that reflect modern practices.
The House of Billecart-Salmon was founded by Nicolas François Billecart and Elisabeth Salmon in 1818. Now managed by Mathieu Roland-Billecart, it remains one of the few remaining independent family-owned Champagne Houses and has been in the family for seven generations.
Firmly rooted in the region's tradition, the House boasts one of the region's last traditional presses. At the same time, Billecart-Salmon has always been at the cutting edge of modernity and innovation; in the late 1950s it pioneered a technique new to Champagne production, cold settling.
A cut stone gateway with wrought iron gate leads to a paved courtyard. This is bordered along the right-hand side by a large building with a square-shaped lower storey topped by a steep-sided roof, which houses the administrative and reception facilities. The whole complex is a showcase for the company, enhanced by an extensive garden.
Situated at the heart of the village, the French walled garden is encircled by lime trees pruned to form a canopy, and embellished with box trees, lawns and seasonal flowerbeds. Designed in 1926 by Charles Roland-Billecart, it was reorganised and extended following the 1996 storm, at which time a reception area was added. To this day the Champagne House still grows the chasselas rose grape variety, originating from the very first vines planted by its founder, Nicolas Billecart.
Champagne Billecart-Salmon – 40 rue Carnot – Mareuil-sur Aÿ – 51160 Aÿ-Champagne.
Tel.: +33 3 26 52 60 22