The history of the Ayala Champagne House exemplifies the Champagne region's history. The house owes its existence both to the foreign presence in the region and alliances between traders. In 1911 it felt the full force of the winegrowers' revolt. It also brings together wine production facilities and a brand showcase within the same location, conveying an image of excellence against a backdrop of simple, rational and luxurious architecture.
In 1850, the son of the Colombian Vice-Consul in France, Raphaël Edmond Louis de Ayala came to stay with the Viscount of Mareuil in Mareuil-sur-Aÿ. In 1855, he joined the Champagne House owned by Just Albrecht, marrying his daughter Berthe in 1858. She was the niece of the Viscount of Mareuil, and as a dowry received from her uncle the Château d’Aÿ together with vineyards in Aÿ and Mareuil-sur-Aÿ. In 1861, Edmond de Ayala joined forces with the Viscount of Mareuil to found the Ayala-Albrecht Champagne House.
The original premises were built on Boulevard du Nord in Aÿ circa 1850-1860 and were extended around 1870, before being destroyed in 1911 during the winegrowers' revolt. The house was rebuilt between late 1911 and 1913.
The site gives the appearance of being built into the vine-covered hillside. Offices and production buildings are arranged around a courtyard at the centre of which is the fermenting room, providing access to the underground areas. In 1860, work began to dig out the cellars, located under the courtyard, descending to a depth of 18m below the hillside.
The facades are punctuated and spaced by alternating brick and cut stone, a design that helps transform the buildings into a prestigious showcase for the brand.
Champagne Ayala–1, rue Edmond de Ayala – 51160 Aÿ-Champagne
Tel.: +33 3 26 55 15 44